World Class Beverages Indiana

June 2, 2010

Show Me Your ABV’s

Breweries are reaching entirely new levels of sophistication. How can I tell? Because instead of advertising their products with women tearing their clothes off arguing over whether a beer is “less filling” or “tastes great” they’re competing to see who can brew the beer with the highest alcohol content. Sort of a “mine is bigger than yours” competition. Much more of mature, sophisticated approach to the business, wouldn’t you say?

Me neither.

Whose is bigger? Just a couple of days ago I learned from our friends at BeerNews.org that Schorschbrau Brewing of Germany had beat out Scotland’s Brewdog Brewing for the current high alcohol by volume (abv) title with their 43% abv “Schorschbock”. It beat out Brewdog’s “Sink the Bismarck” which had previously held the abv title for a scant few months at 41%. Though surely, Brewdog is preparing a counter strike as I write this.

Brewdog seems to have touched off this battle with their 2009 release of Tactical Nuclear Penguin. Penguin weighs in at 32% abv. Schorschbrau responded with a 32% version of Schorschbock to regain the abv title. 32% was pretty strong for 2009 but not so much in 2010 where 43% is the new standard.

Aside from some gratuitous publicity, what’s the point of this battle for abv supremacy?

Brewdog describes their reasoning for creating Tactical Nuclear Penguin at their website:

This beer is about pushing the boundaries, it is about taking innovation in beer to a whole new level. It is about achieving something which has never before been done and putting Scotland firmly on the map for progressive, craft beers.

Progressive, perhaps. But also potentially pointless as far as beer is concerned. You’re really just making a distilled spirit and calling it beer.

How do they make a 43% (or 32%) beer? It’s pretty simple, really. All the beers in the recent competition for world’s strongest beer are simply regular beers that are frozen. As the beer freezes, water crystallizes into ice and leaves behind a thick liquid heavy with alcohol. That remaining liquid is separated from the ice and voila, 43% beer. In essence, beer is being distilled through freezing instead of boiling. The German “Eisbock” lagers were made into very strong beers through this same method but through all the centuries that Eisbocks have been made, no one seemed to think it necessary to ramp the beers up to 43% abv, which could have been done at any time given enough of a freeze.

If you’re a craft brewer and this battle is any indication of a lasting trend in the craft beer world, you might as well hire Heidi Montag to be your brewer.

Don’t get me wrong here – I loved seeing the Brewdog guys dressed in penguin costumes to promote this beer. That’s just good, clean, Scottish fun. But what about making great beer? I’m sure I remember reading somewhere that making great beer was what the craft beer movement was about.

I’ll invite any of you to join me in a great 12% Belgian Tripel or Russian Imperial Stout just about any day of the week. I’m not opposed to high alcohol beers. But I’m probably opposed to making something with a lot of alcohol in it and calling it beer just for the sake of some fleeting world record. I suspect that you’re probably sacrificing the good of the beer for the sake of the record.

3 Comments »

  1. dear brewing expert bob mack,
    i`m blinded by your enormous intelligence knowing how simple my extreme ice-bock is done.maybe you could help me with doing even stronger??
    never tried such beers i think,otherwise you maybe wouldnt have been writing such bullshit.its a totally different experience of beer-taste,thats what its all about.
    one tip for the future:
    only write about things you did/tasted before and only talk about how easy something is if you also tried.
    ever done an icebock??

    Georg Tscheuschner,Schorschbräu

    Comment by schorsch — June 3, 2010 @ 5:00 pm | Reply

    • Dear Georg,

      Thanks for commenting though frankly I think you could have made your point much more professionally with less sarcasm and profanity. I grant that my post was a little sarcastic in some ways but it was written to be somewhat entertaining, not derogatory like your reply.

      Perhaps you should read my post again. I never claimed to be a brewer, never hinted that your beers were bad (I like your beers!) and I don’t think that brewing an Eisbock is simple. It’s the concept of brewing it to 43% that I find to be simple minded. I just happen to disagree with what seems to me an attempt at nothing more than publicity and not a genuine approach to brewing better beers.

      That’s my opinion and I’m sorry if you see it differently. But as you can see, you’re more than welcome to disagree and I am happy that you chose to do so.

      I’m well aware of the long and storied history of Eisbocks. Thank you. But I don’t see the point of a 43% Eisbock. I’m not saying that Eisbock style beers are bad beers, but for centuries German brewers have done pretty well with Eisbocks in the 9 to 15% abv range. In fact, Schorschbrau has done pretty well with that very same abv range until recently.

      Why the sudden urge to brew Schorchsbock to 43%? I’d welcome your comments on that subject.

      Cheers!

      Bob Mack

      Comment by Bob Mack — June 4, 2010 @ 7:29 am | Reply

  2. A comment from the post author –

    First, I genuinely want to thank Georg Tscheuschner from Schorschbräu for commenting. I really do welcome and value his input. After all, he has a very inside and knowledgeable perspective on this but I’d wish he’d share more of that opinion and knowledge and take my comments less personally. They certainly were not meant to be.

    However, I do want to make a point clear that perhaps I should have been more forward with in my original posting. In my mind, brewing beer to super high alcohol levels strikes me as being a publicity stunt and little more. To me, it is very reminiscent of the big breweries dressing young women in bikinis and selling their beer on those merits. And because the craft beer movement in this country has been built very solidly on the merits of the beer itself it worries me to see brewers of great beer doing those sorts of things that we often deride the big brewers for doing all these years.

    At the end of the day, I don’t think it’s a positive thing for good beer, though I welcome the discussion.

    Thanks, Georg. I would love to talk about this over a beer sometime!

    Comment by Bob Mack — June 4, 2010 @ 8:03 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

